Login   |    Sign up

Eliud Kipchoge of Kenya is IAAF male athlete of the year.

N. F. Kenure

Eliud Kipchoge has been an unstoppable force in marathon racing since making his debut in Hamburg in 2013. This force of nature is an Olympic gold and silver medalist and is now  generally accepted as the greatest marathon runner of our time.


In Germany, he beat fellow Kenyan, Dennis Kimetto’s best time of 2:02.57 with a new record of 2:01:39 on September 16.


He has garnered 10 wins from the 11 marathons in which he has raced, winning three times not only in Berlin but also in London. He won the London Marathon, for the third time clocking in at 2:04:17.


Kipchoge  was awarded the Male athlete of the year by the IAAF at a ceremony in Monaco. Other nominees for the honour are Christian Coleman (USA), Kevin Mayer (FRA), Mondo Duplantis (SWE) and Abderrahman Samba (QAT), and Dina Asher-Smith (GBR), Beatrice Chepkoech (KEN), Shaunae Miller-Uibo (BAH) and Nafissatou Thiam (BEL) for the women.



Dec 5, 2018